A teamLab Borderless ticket admits you once, at a start time you choose when you buy it, and the museum does not let you back in once you leave. There are no restaurants or cafes inside, and there is no limit on how long you can stay after you are admitted, so the decision the ticket really forces is when you eat, not which ticket you buy.

Two other things decide more than the price does. The Borderless described in older articles was in Odaiba and closed in August 2022; teamLab’s own page for that venue says it is “Newly re-opening at Azabudai Hills in Central Tokyo.” And Borderless is not teamLab Planets. Planets is a separate museum in Toyosu, in a different ward, with its own tickets, its own hours and a published end date.

The ticket you buy at the door costs 200 yen more than the same ticket bought first

teamLab’s own ticket page lists the Entrance Pass at 3,600 yen for adults aged 18 and over, 2,800 yen for ages 13 to 17, 1,500 yen for ages 4 to 12, free for age 3 and under, and 1,800 yen for a holder of a disability certificate plus up to one accompanying person. The same page carries the line that decides where you buy: “+200 yen if purchased on site.” GO TOKYO, the official Tokyo travel guide published by the Tokyo Convention & Visitors Bureau, prints the same surcharge as a full sentence: “An additional 200 yen will be charged for any ticket purchased on-site.”

That 3,600 is not a fixed fare. teamLab states on the same page that “Tickets for adults and visitors with disabilities are subject to a dynamic pricing system,” and GO TOKYO says it in plainer words: “Ticket prices vary from day to day, so it’s important to check the price for each day you plan to visit.” Only the 13-to-17, 4-to-12 and free tiers are quoted without that note. What the on-site surcharge does is add a flat 200 yen on top of whatever that day’s figure turns out to be.

GO TOKYO is worth checking against the ticket page rather than in place of it. Its Borderless entry is stamped as updated 19 February 2026 and still gives “from 3,800 yen” for adults, hours of 9:00 to 21:00, and closing days as “irregular.” All three have been overtaken by teamLab’s own page. Where the two disagree, the figures here follow teamLab.

Two passes exist, and the difference is the entry time and the price, not the art

teamLab sells two products, and nothing on either page says they show you different artworks. The Entrance Pass is the ordinary ticket: “Admission time is specified,” and the adult price is the 3,600 yen above. The Flexible Pass is a flat 12,000 yen for adults and children alike, and what it removes is the time slot – teamLab marks it “Admission time is not specified” and tells you to arrive when you wish, no later than the final entry time. At 12,000 against 3,600, which is three and a third times by my own division, it is a convenience fee rather than a different visit.

The change rules follow from that difference. The FAQ states that the date on a ticket “may be changed up to 3 times,” and that the cut-off differs by product: for the Entrance Pass it is “2 hours before the reserved entry time,” and for the Flexible Pass it is “2 hours before the museum’s last entry time.” A Flexible Pass therefore keeps its change window open for the whole operating day rather than expiring two hours before one fixed slot.

Three further limits sit alongside that. Changing to a different ticket type is not permitted as part of a date change. “In general, tickets cannot be canceled once purchased.” And a change fails if “the requested date/time is sold out or has insufficient availability,” which is the same constraint that decides whether you can buy at all: “If not sold out, tickets can be purchased on the day of the event through the official ticket website.”

One entry, no cafe, and the gift workshop is in a different building

The FAQ is blunt on two points that shape a visit more than the price does. “Re-entry is not permitted.” And “There is no limit on how long you can stay in the museum after admission.” Those two sentences pull in opposite directions: you may stay as long as you like, but stepping out to find lunch ends the visit.

The third sentence closes the gap: “There are no restaurants or cafes. Vending machines are available at the venue.” Drinks are covered; a meal is not. Eat before you go in.

One attraction turns on this. teamLab Sketch Factory Azabudai turns drawings made inside the exhibition into physical items, and teamLab’s page for it puts it on the B1 floor of Azabudai Hills Garden Plaza A, “outside of teamLab Borderless.” GO TOKYO places Borderless itself in Garden Plaza B. Those are two different buildings in the same complex, so visiting the Sketch Factory is an exit. Its hours are 10:00 to 21:30, and it closes on the same days as Borderless.

Strollers are also handled outside the galleries: “No strollers are permitted. Please leave them in the luggage room.”

Kamiyacho exit 5 is two minutes away, and the building letter is the part to check

GO TOKYO gives the access as Kamiyacho Station on the Tokyo Metro Hibiya Line, exit 5, two minutes on foot, and the address as Azabudai Hills Garden Plaza B, B1F, 1-2-4 Azabudai, Minato City.

Azabudai Hills is a complex of several buildings, and the letter after “Garden Plaza” is not decoration. Borderless is in Garden Plaza B, on the first basement level. The Sketch Factory is in Garden Plaza A, on the same level of a different building. Because admission is tied to a start time rather than being open all day, walking to the wrong letter comes out of your slot.

teamLab publishes the hours as 8:30 to 21:00 with last entry one hour before closing, and the closing time is not the same every day: the page lists a 17:00 close on 17 November and a 22:00 close on twenty-seven dates across October and November. Planets runs 8:00 to 22:00 on the same last-entry rule. So Borderless opens half an hour earlier than the 9:00 GO TOKYO still prints, and on its 22:00 days the two museums stop admitting people at the same hour rather than an hour apart.

Borderless and Planets are two museums, and only one of them has an announced ending

The two are booked separately and sit in different wards – Minato City and Koto-ku. Both teamLab pages publish a full fee table; only Planets publishes an exhibition period.

  teamLab Borderless teamLab Planets TOKYO
Location Azabudai Hills Garden Plaza B, B1F, 1-2-4 Azabudai, Minato City Toyosu 6-1-16, Koto-ku
Hours 8:30-21:00 (17:00 or 22:00 on listed dates), last entry one hour before closing 8:00-22:00, last entry one hour before closing
Adults 3,600 yen (18 and over), dynamic pricing 4,200 yen (18 and over), dynamic pricing
Teenagers 2,800 yen (13-17) 2,800 yen (junior and high school)
Children 1,500 yen (4-12) 1,500 yen (4-12)
Age 3 and under Free Free
Visitors with disabilities 1,800 yen, dynamic pricing (certificate holder plus one companion) 2,100 yen
Closing days Tuesday 20 October; Tuesday 24 November Thursday 1 October; Thursday 5 November
Announced end of exhibition None. The term begins 9 February 2024 and is stated as permanent End of 2027
Source of the figures above teamLab official site (GO TOKYO for the on-site surcharge) teamLab official site

Planets also sells a Premium Pass at 12,000 yen for ages 4 and over, which teamLab describes as giving priority entry without a designated admission time, and states its exhibition period as “July 7, 2018 – End of 2027.” Borderless publishes no comparable end date on the official pages.

What the official pages do not settle

Two things stayed unanswered. The Sketch Factory page does not publish its own price or say whether a Borderless ticket is required to use it. And neither page gives the figure that applies at the door, only that it is 200 yen above the online price for that day. Resale, by contrast, is settled: the ticket page states that “Reselling tickets is prohibited” and that a resold ticket will not admit you.

Neither museum closes on a weekly rule. teamLab names Tuesday 20 October and Tuesday 24 November for Borderless, and Thursday 1 October and Thursday 5 November for Planets, and lists them as dates rather than as a recurring day. GO TOKYO’s “irregular” is not wrong so much as less useful than the page it summarises.


Sources Checked

teamLab – official FAQ for teamLab Borderless TOKYO
Confirmed that re-entry is not permitted; that there is no limit on how long a visitor may stay after admission; that there are no restaurants or cafes and that vending machines are available at the venue; that a ticket date may be changed up to 3 times; that the change deadline is 2 hours before the reserved entry time for the Entrance Pass and 2 hours before the museum’s last entry time for the Flexible Pass; that changing to a different ticket type is not permitted; that in general tickets cannot be cancelled once purchased; that a change fails if the requested slot is sold out or has insufficient availability; that same-day purchase through the official ticket website is possible if not sold out; and that strollers are not permitted and must be left in the luggage room.
https://www.teamlab.art/faq/tokyo/

teamLab – official page for teamLab Borderless TOKYO
Confirmed that the term begins 9 February 2024 and is stated as permanent; hours of 8:30 to 21:00 with last entry one hour before closing, a 17:00 close on 17 November and a 22:00 close on twenty-seven listed dates in October and November; closing days of Tuesday 20 October and Tuesday 24 November; an Entrance Pass at 3,600 yen for adults 18 and over, 2,800 yen for ages 13 to 17, 1,500 yen for ages 4 to 12, free for age 3 and under and 1,800 yen for a disability certificate holder plus up to one accompanying person; a Flexible Pass at 12,000 yen for adults and children with admission time not specified; that adult and disability tickets “are subject to a dynamic pricing system”; the note “+200 yen if purchased on site”; and that reselling tickets is prohibited.
https://www.teamlab.art/e/tokyo/

teamLab – official page for teamLab Borderless in Odaiba
Confirmed that teamLab Borderless in Odaiba closed in August 2022 and that the venue is “Newly re-opening at Azabudai Hills in Central Tokyo.”
https://www.teamlab.art/e/borderless-odaiba/

teamLab – official page for teamLab Sketch Factory Azabudai
Confirmed that the Sketch Factory is on B1 of Azabudai Hills Garden Plaza A and is “outside of teamLab Borderless”; that its hours are 10:00 to 21:30; and that it is closed on the same days as teamLab Borderless.
https://www.teamlab.art/e/sketchfactory-azabudai/

teamLab – official page for teamLab Planets TOKYO
Confirmed the address Toyosu 6-1-16, Koto-ku; hours of 8:00 to 22:00 with last entry one hour before closing; closing days of Thursday 1 October and Thursday 5 November; admission of 4,200 yen for adults 18 and over under a dynamic pricing system, 2,800 yen for junior and high school students, 1,500 yen for children aged 4 to 12, free for age 3 and under, 2,100 yen for visitors with disabilities and 12,000 yen for a Premium Pass for ages 4 and over giving priority entry without a designated admission time; and an exhibition period of “July 7, 2018 – End of 2027.”
https://www.teamlab.art/e/planets/

Tokyo Convention & Visitors Bureau – GO TOKYO, the official Tokyo travel guide, page for teamLab Borderless
Confirmed the address Azabudai Hills Garden Plaza B, B1F, 1-2-4 Azabudai, Minato City; hours of 9:00 to 21:00 with last admission at 20:00, one hour before closing; closing days given as irregular; admission from 3,800 yen for adults 18 and over, 2,800 yen for ages 13 to 17, 1,500 yen for ages 4 to 12 and free for age 3 and under – the hours, the closing days and the adult figure all being superseded by teamLab’s own page; that “Ticket prices vary from day to day, so it’s important to check the price for each day you plan to visit.”; that “An additional 200 yen will be charged for any ticket purchased on-site.”; that the nearest station is Kamiyacho on the Tokyo Metro Hibiya Line, exit 5, two minutes on foot; and that the page was updated on 19 February 2026.
https://www.gotokyo.org/en/spot/1742/index.html

Last updated: September 2026